Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Seward Spotlight – William H. Seward

  1. Seward is named after William H. Seward. Seward was the Secretary of State under Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson and was responsible for the United States purchase of Alaska from Russia in 1867 for $7,000,000. Despite paying only two cents an acre, the Alaskan purchase was not initially popular and was referred to as Seward’s folly and Seward’s icebox. That tune changed at the end of the century when gold was discovered in Alaska and Alaska has since played a major role in American prosperity with the abundance of natural resources that are found here.  

~ Danny